Dancing with Abby

Woman at left is painter Suzanne Valadon

Woman at left is painter Suzanne Valadon (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Did you ever dance…alone? I did. I still do once in a while. When I hear a “danceable” music my body moves even if my hands are doing something else such as ironing. Of course I would pause and dance to my heart content for few good minutes then I resume to whatever I am doing before. Silly dance is what I actually do since I can’t really dance as graceful as others are. Good exercise though and it’s fun!

Sometimes my audience of one is having fun watching me – who else but Abby! (Hopefully she’s not thinking her mommy is crazy) She smiles, laugh and giggles with me.

Other times, Abby and I dance together and she loved it! We usually dance in front of the mirror. I don’t know why but we love looking at ourselves dancing no matter how silly we look. What matters is that we are both having fun. I can say, it’s a great bonding activity for us.

I wonder if I’m the only person who dance when alone or in front of her most loyal audience – her child! Dancing alone at home is like singing in the shower. Don’t you agree?

I guess William Purkey loves to dance when alone that’s why he was inspired to write his famous quote “You’ve gotta dance like there’s nobody watching, Love like you’ll never be hurt, Sing like there’s nobody listening, And live like it’s heaven on earth“.

Thanks for reading. Have a wonderful day!

 

10 thoughts on “Dancing with Abby

  1. Great post. I use to love to dance…alone and in tandem with others or with one. My daughter, Jackie, was a ballet dancer and was pure grace to watch. Thank you for bringing those happy memories to the forefront of my mind today.
    I miss those days.

    Like

  2. I like to keep in shape and sometimes, I just don’t want to do a regular workout so, I’ll put on some songs I love and dance my heart out. It’s not only great exercise, it is so good for the soul. 😀

    Like

  3. I just love that you are dancing around by yourself and also with Abby! It’s good and uplifting fun, too. I dance around the house all the time, I thought everybody did! 🙂

    Like

Thank you!