God’s Promises

” Your word is a lamp to my feet

and a light for my path ” – Psalm 119 :105

Everyday is not the same although we seem to do the same routine. Everyday our mood is different. Everyday our emotions and feelings vary.

Some days we are happy and content. Other days we are discouraged and sad. Each of us has his/her own way of coping with such negative feelings. Mine is reminding myself of God’s promises. Below are some of them that I find comforting:

  • Isaiah 40:31 “but those who hope in the Lord will renew their strength. They will soar on wings like eagles; they will run and not grow weary, they will walk and not be faint”.
  • Joshua 1:9Be strong and courageous. Do not be terrified; do not be discouraged, for the Lord your God will be with you wherever you go”
  • Isaiah 59:1Surely the arm of the Lord is not too short to save, nor his ear to dull to hear”
  • Lamentations 3 : 22-23Because of the Lord’s great love we are not consumed, for his compassion never fails. They are new every morning, great is your faithfulness”.

How about you? How do you encourage yourself? How do you lift your spirit up when you are feeling down?

16 thoughts on “God’s Promises

  1. I always feel God’s presence around me. That gives me strength and motivation both. When I fail I take that as God’s way to tell me to learn from the experience and do it better the next time.

    Like

  2. Hi imexcited,

    the first verse you quoted is my favourite and it has been for years. Just this morning when I was out walking I was thinking that it is hard work staying positive all the time. Some days I would like a day off to just sit and be depressed and accept how I feel for what it is.

    I know the world doesn’t welcome depressed people and I can understand that but perhaps if we could express our feelings more honestly…

    cheers
    Lorraine

    Like

    • Hello Lorraine!
      Thank you for sharing your sentiments…I think it’s human nature to feel depressed sometimes (specially us – female species πŸ™‚ and as long as we keep in mind that it’s just a phase and that tomorrow the sun will rise again – it’s okay!

      I’ve read this saying from a christian magazine long time ago ‘It’s all right to sit on your pity pot every now and again – just be sure to flush when you’re done’.

      God bless you.

      Like

Thank you!

